CRNA Recognized as One of Nursing's Elite: Mary Anne Krogh One of Few Nurse Anesthetists Inducted

  • Oct 20, 2015

For Immediate Release:  October 20, 2015    
For More Information Contact:  Marlene McDowell
faan-makrogh200Park Ridge, Illinois – Mary Anne Krogh, CRNA, PhD, a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), from Sioux Falls, S.D., has been elected as a fellow in the American Academy of Nursing (AAN). Krogh joins the ranks of an elite group of just over 2,000 nursing professionals, and only 25 CRNAs, who have been elected as AAN fellows since the academy was established in 1973.
Krogh has been the program administrator of the nurse anesthesia program at Mount Marty College in Sioux Falls, S.D., for the past year. In this role, Krogh oversees 100 graduate students as they matriculate through the clinical and didactic science curriculums. Prior to becoming the program administrator, Krogh served as Mount Marty’s Nurse Anesthesia Program’s first clinical director, overseeing 37 clinical sites spread over six states.
“I consider this a huge acknowledgement of my contributions to the nursing profession, and I can’t say enough about how humbled I am to receive it,” said Krogh. “I look forward to learning many new things and partnering with my nursing colleagues to continue to move the nursing profession forward.”
A CRNA for 15 years, Krogh has been active with the certification and recertification of nurse anesthetists through her work with the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) since 2003. Through her work with NBCRNA, she has chaired two task forces and held various leadership roles on the NBCRNA Board of Directors, including president from 2010-2012.
Currently, Krogh is serving as chair of the NBCRNA Non-Surgical Pain Management Committee and is active in helping to formulate a professional practice analysis for a new recertification program for nurse anesthetists.
The AAN is an organization of distinguished nursing leaders who are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the profession through publications, research, awards and honors, professional activities, and community service. The academy’s fellows represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 24 countries. Krogh’s induction took place during the academy’s 2015 Annual Policy Conference in Washington, D.C., Oct. 17.
About the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists