Government Relations Committee

FY2020 Government Relations Committee

Front row (seated), left to right: Emily Dong, RN, CCRN, Student Representative; Jana Conover, BA, AANA Staff; Ashley Fedan, MS, ARNP, CRNA.

Back row (standing), left to right: Jason Bauer, MSN, PHRN, CRNA, Chair; Tracy Castleman, MS, APN, CRNA; Anna Polyak, RN, JD, AANA Staff; Jennifer Schmitt, MS, CRNA; Julia Harris, MSN, CRNA.

Not pictured: Jill Mason-Nguyen, DNAP, CRNA. 


GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Committee Position Description Sept 2019

AANA Bylaw Language

Article VII, Section 5 F: Government Relations Committee

The Government Relations Committee shall address matters pertaining to legislation and regulations, and make recommendations to the Board of Directors.

Meeting Dates

  • All committee members are required to attend the Joint Committee Conference. 
  • Conference calls and additional meetings as needed. 
  • Committee members are expected to devote adequate time to preparation for meetings and conference calls, as well as any projects that may be assigned in a given year.

Note:  Given a student nurse anesthetist’s academic responsibilities, a student committee member will not receive additional work above that which is required for scheduled meeting participation (e.g., reviewing background material sent in advance of scheduled meetings), except to the extent that the student’s schedule allows.

Attendance of committee members at AANA assemblies is welcome, but not required or funded.

For the Fiscal Year 2020 Committee:

  • ​September 13-15, 2019 - Park Ridge, Ill.
    • All committee members are required to attend. 

For the Fiscal Year 2021 Committee:

  • ​September 12-13, 2020 (tentative) - Park Ridge, Ill.
    • All committee members are required to attend. 

AANA Staff

  • Anna Polyak, JD, RN, Senior Director, State Government Affairs
  • Jana Conover, BA, Assistant Director of State Government Affairs and Legal