Diversity and Inclusion Committee 

Diversity & Inclusion Committee FY2020

Back row, from left to right: Edwin Aroke, PhD, MSN, CRNA; Lisa Riedel, DNP, CRNA; Kimberly Kimble, DNP, CRNA.

Front row, from left to rightMarlene McDowell, MA, AANA staff; Safa Soliman, BSN, RN, CCRN, Student Representative; Monica Rose, PhD, CRNA, Chair; Karen Sutkus, AANA staff; Terrica Durbin, DNP, CRNA, APN; Jose Delfin Castillo III, PhD, MSNA, CRNA, ARNP.

Not pictured: Debra Diaz, DNP, CRNA, APRN, CDR, USN(ret.), Board Representative.

DIVERSITY and INCLUSION Ad Hoc COMMITTEE Position Description - Dec 2017

AANA Bylaw Language

None - this is an ad hoc committee.

Committee Purpose

The Diversity & Inclusion Committee is a new ad hoc committee beginning in fiscal year 2019.  It designs and implements initiatives, educational opportunities, and events that foster cultural sensitivity, diversity and inclusion for the nurse anesthesia profession. Recognizing that AANA members represent all demographics and practice in every setting in which anesthesia is delivered across the United States, the AANA desires to integrate diversity and inclusion into the work of the AANA Board, committees and staff.  

Meeting Dates

  • FY20 Committee - September 13-15, 2019 - Park Ridge, Ill.
  • FY21 Committee - September 12-13, 2020 (tentative) - Park Ridge, Ill.

AANA Staff