Timeline of AANA History, 1970s

Florence McQuillen, CRNA, retired as executive director after 22 years. She assumed the titles of Director Emeritus and Consultant to the Board of Trustees.
Bernice Baum, CRNA, became executive director after 13 years of employment at the AANA, including associate director and managing editor. 
The executive office moved to 111 East Wacker Drive in Chicago.
The first bachelors degree program in anesthesia began at Mount Marty College in Yankton, S.D.
The Continuing Education Committee was formed.
John Garde, CRNA, became the first male president of the AANA.
The AANA NewsBulletin and the ASA Newsletter published the “Joint Statement of the American Society of Anesthesiologists and the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Concerning Qualifications of Individuals Administering Anesthetics.”
The executive office employed a staff of 15.
The American Nurses’ Association (ANA) invited the AANA president to attend the ANA convention.
AANA membership passed 15,000.
The AANA became a charter member of the Federation of Specialty Nursing Organizations, later the National Federation for Specialty Nursing Organizations.
Computers arrived at the executive office for maintenance of membership records, dues processing, and addressing services.
Douglas Reimer was retained as general counsel. 
Kenneth Williamson was hired as Washington Consultant for Health Affairs and began AANA’s first attempt at legislation at the national level.
Region 7 was established.
A public relations survey was undertaken to determine how the AANA could be more responsive to its membership.
The last State Night Friendship Dinner was held at the Annual Meeting.
Goldie Brangman, CRNA, became the first African American president. She was also the first  to give a theme to her presidential year: “Year of Communication.”

Standards for Nurse Anesthesia Practice were adopted.
The Journal of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists was renamed the AANA Journal.
The Ad Hoc Council on Practice (later to become the Council for Public Interest in Anesthesia) held its first meeting.
A new logo, consisting of a stylized Caduceus and the association’s initials, was introduced.
A Public Relations Primer was distributed to state presidents and program directors.
The AANA Fact Book, designed to provide basic information about the AANA and CRNAs, was published.
The AANA NewsBulletin began running a Computer Corner column.
Green beanies were handed out to first-time Annual Meeting attendees for the last time.
Liability coverage for members was offered through Marsh & McLennan.
The Legal Briefs column debuted in the AANA Journal.
The Ad Hoc Council on Practice became the Council on Practice (it become the Council for Public Interest in Anesthesia in 1988).
At the annual Business Meeting, members voted to amend the bylaws to create the Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists (CCNA) and the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA), and the credentialing functions of the AANA were transferred to these autonomous councils.
The Agatha Hodgins Award for Outstanding Accomplishment was first presented to Ruth Satterfield, CRNA.
The American Society of Anesthesiologists formally challenged the AANA’s right to accredit nurse anesthesia programs. The challenge proved unsuccessful.
AANA representatives first presented testimony before a Congressional committee - the subject was national health insurance.
The Board of Trustees was renamed the Board of Directors.
The Annual Meeting was held independent of the American Hospital Association (AHA), after being held in conjunction with the AHA’s meeting for 43 years (1933-1976). 
An Annual Meeting registration fee is charged for the first time since 1941: $20 for pre-registration and $25 on site.
Nancy Fevold, CRNA, was named acting executive director upon Bernice Baum’s retirement.
The format of the business meeting changed so that only resolutions formally prepared and presented by the Resolutions Committee would be open for discussion; exceptions would be made for emergency resolutions.

An effort to have a presidential resolution declaring a National Nurse Anesthetists Week failed to gather enough Congressional signatures to proceed through the resolution process.
The Council Conference was changed to the (Spring) Assembly of States.
AANA members approved mandatory continuing education for CRNAs, which became effective in 1978.
J. Martin Stone, MHA, became executive director. He was the AANA’s only non-CRNA executive director.
The AANA Journal Editorial Advisory Board was created.
The first presidential stipend given.
The first student luncheon was held at the Annual Meeting.
Membership passed 20,000.
A resolution was passed to have Board of Directors meetings open to active membership, unless a closed meeting was voted upon.
The Council on Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists was established through an amendment of the bylaws.
The AANA purchased the office building at 216 Higgins in Park Ridge, Ill., and staff moved in the next year.
The Annual Meeting was extended by one day, starting on Saturday instead of Sunday.
A 60-second TV spot including a segment on CRNAs was part of the American Nurses Association’s Year of the Nurse campaign.
A legislative aide position was added to the executive office, which would have full responsibility for the AANA’s government relations program.
The first Student Representative to the Education Committee was selected.
Richard Verville was retained as the Washington consultant.
The AANA’s nondiscrimination policy was formalized and began to appear in the bylaws.
The AANA Statement of Policy on the Provision of Anesthesia Services, which was on reimbursement, was adopted. 
Position Statement 2.6: Administration of Regional Anesthesia by Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists was adopted.
The first master’s of science degree in nurse anesthesia was granted from the Kaiser Permanente nurse anesthesia clinical program by the Department of Nursing at California State University in Long Beach. 
The first student column was published in the AANA NewsBulletin.
The Nurse Training Act that specifically included Nurse Anesthetist Traineeships was signed into federal law, but funding would not be received until 1983.
A bylaw amendment approving an all-mail ballot was passed. Previously members voted at the Annual Meeting or mailed in absentee ballots.
The first Government Relations Workshop was held in Washington, D.C.
Nancy Fevold, CRNA, MBA, was named executive director upon J. Martin Stone’s resignation.
The Assembly of School Faculty voted to support the concept of a baccalaureate level of education for the professional nurse.
A resolution was passed that the executive director must be a CRNA and an active member.
The first Fall Assembly of States took place; the assembly had previously been held in conjunction with the Annual Meeting.
The first State President’s Luncheon was held at the Annual Meeting.
The first Annual Meeting Special Supplement appeared in the AANA NewsBulletin.

Timeline Home