Continuing Education Committee





 

 Committee Information

 
 
Standing, from left to rightRandall Moore, CRNA, MS; Chair Kristen Starnes-Ott, CRNA, PhD; Jill Detty Oswaks, CRNA, DNSc; Senior Director of Education and Professional Development John C. Preston, CRNA, DNSc 
 
Seated, from left to rightKevin Buettner, CRNA, PhD; Continuing Education Manager Ann C. Carlson, MA; Kristen Hiscox, CRNA, DNP   
 
 
Committee Purpose
The Continuing Education Committee shall formulate criteria for eligibility for recertification. Such criteria shall be submitted to the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) for evaluation and adoption. The Continuing Education Committee shall also supervise the continuing education projects conducted by the Association, evaluate applications for program approval, and approve refresher courses based upon established criteria which are required prior to transference to Active recertified membership.
 
Continuing Education Committee Position Description
 
 
 

 Contact Info

 

Committee Members:

Chair: Kristen Starnes-Ott, CRNA, PhD - kristen.starnes-ott@uth.tmc.edu 

Kevin Buettner, CRNA, PhD - kevin.buettner@email.und.edu
 
Kristen Hiscox, CRNA, DNP - khiscox7@yahoo.com
 
Randall Moore, CRNA, MS - randymoore2@hotmail.com
 
Jill Detty Oswaks, CRNA, DNSc - joswaks@uthsc.edu
 
 
Staff:
John Preston, CRNA, DNSc, Senior Director, Education and Professional Development - jpreston@aana.com
 
Ann C. Carlson, MA, Continuing Education Manager - acarlson@aana.com
 

 AANA Bylaw Language

 
Article XIII, Section 5, B: Continuing Education Committee
 
The Continuing Education Committee shall formulate criteria for eligibility for recertification. Such criteria shall be submitted to the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) for evaluation and adoption.  The Continuing Education Committee shall also supervise the continuing education projects conducted by the ASSOCIATION, evaluation applications for program approval, and approve refresher courses based upon established criteria which are required prior to transference to Active recertified membership. 
 

 Meeting Dates

 
  • ​September 6-7, 2013 - Chicago, Ill.
  • Misc conference calls