John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award

The Researcher of the Year Award is named in memory of John F. Garde, a previous Foundation Trustee, AANA Executive Director and charter member of the AANA Foundation. John was instrumental in the creation of the Foundation and realized the importance of supporting nurse anesthesia long into the future. He was a leader whose accomplishments are remarkable by anyone’s standards. The John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the practice of anesthesia through research.


2014 Award
The AANA Foundation presented the prestigious 2014 John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award to Ladan Eshkevari, CNRA, PhD, LAcDr. Ladan Eshkevari is a practicing nurse anesthetist, educator, and creative and diligent scientist.  Her research on the interaction among pain, acupuncture, and peripheral markers of stress is groundbreaking, and she actively disseminates this information in published articles in peer reviewed journals, poster presentations at national conferences, and at national and international speaking engagements.   In addition, her work has been highlighted in popular news outlets such as National Geographic and TIME magazine.  Ladan has been a faculty member at Georgetown University School of Nursing & Health Care Studies for 17 years and provides active service to education, professional, and practice organizations where she is a highly respected team player who brings a wealth of clinical and basic science research. 


Previous Researchers of the Year
2000 - Denise Martin-Sheridan, CRNA, EdD
2001 - Thomas E. Obst, CRNA, PhD
2002 - Francis Gerbasi, CRNA, PhD
2002 - Joseph Pellegrini, CRNA, DNSc
2003 - Michele E. Gold, CRNA, PhD
2004 - Karen Crawforth, CRNA, PhD
2005 - Clarence Biddle, CRNA, PhD
2006 - Normalynn Garrett, CRNA, PhD
2007 - Charles Vacchiano, CRNA, PhD, CAPT, NC, USN (Ret)
2008 - Michael Fallacaro, CRNA, DNS
2009 - CDR John Maye, CRNA, PhD, NC, USN
2010 - Charles A. Griffis, CRNA, PhD
2011 - Maureen P. Reilly, CRNA, MSN, MHS, PhD
2012 - Bruce Schoneboom, CRNA, PhD, FAAN
2013 - Paul Austin, CRNA, PhD


Application materials for the John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award.

Make a gift to the John F. Garde Endowment Fund and select JF Garde Fund from the drop down.  


 Proof is Power

Support Nurse Anesthesia Education and Research

AANA Foundation
222 S. Prospect Ave.
Park Ridge, IL  60068
Programs and Research
Contact Lorraine for more information:

Lorraine Jordan
Executive Director

Annual Fund and Marketing

Luanne Irvin
Development Officer

Gift Planning / Endowments
Friends for Life

Nat Carmichael
Assistant Director
Bonnie Lowth
Administrative & Program Assistant