Advocate of the Year Award

The Advocate of the Year Award, established in 2006 by the AANA Foundation, is presented to an AANA Foundation Advocate for outstanding commitment to the nurse anesthesia profession through both individually supporting the AANA Foundation and also encouraging others to do the same. 

2014 Award
The 2014 Advocate of the Year is Kathleen Thibeault, CRNA, MSN. 
Kathleen is the Florida State Advocate and she excels at reaching out to fellow CRNAs and students to promote the AANA Foundation.  At Florida Association of Nurse Anesthetist meetings she can be found at the Foundation booth where she educates members, holds fundraisers, awards prizes, and promotes upcoming events. Kathleen also works with state researchers to display and discuss their research at state meetings which is valuable to both CRNAs and students.   Kathleen’s positive energy and organized efforts generate much excitement and connect members with the Foundation and its mission.

Previous Advocates of the Year
2006 - Dianna Heikkila, CRNA
2007 - Richard Kirschke, CRNA, BA
2008 - Danette Plautz, CRNA, MSN
2009 - Wilma Gillis, CRNA, ARNP
2010 - Vicki Coopmans, CRNA, PhD
2011 - David Schwytzer, CRNA, BS, ARNP
2012 - Celeste Hinzmann, CRNA
2013 - Stephanie May, CRNA, DNAP

Application materials for the Advocate of the Year Award.


 Proof is Power

Support Nurse Anesthesia Education and Research

AANA Foundation
222 S. Prospect Ave.
Park Ridge, IL  60068
Programs and Research
Contact Lorraine for more information:

Lorraine Jordan
Executive Director

Annual Fund and Marketing

Luanne Irvin
Development Officer

Gift Planning / Endowments
Friends for Life

Nat Carmichael
Assistant Director
Bonnie Lowth
Administrative & Program Assistant