Student Luncheon Recognizes Service and Achievement

On Monday, Aug. 31, student registered nurse anesthetists from around the country gathered for one of the signature events planned for them at the Nurse Anesthesia Annual Congress: The 2015 Student Luncheon. The event introduces the new student representative to the Education Committee and recognizes student award winners.​

The luncheon was sponsored by National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists and Core Concepts Anesthesia Review. 

Fiscal Year 2015 Student Representative to the Education Committe Daniel Bell, RN, BSN, served as the master of ceremonies for the luncheon, introducing a slate of speakers that included AANA President Sharon Pearce, CRNA, MSN; AANA Foundation Chair Wilma Gillis, CRNA, BSN, APNP; NBCRNA President Edward Waters, CRNA, DNP; and AANA Education Committee Chair Scarlett Hinson, CRNA, DNP, MSN.

Student Scholarships
The AANA Foundation received 1,267 competitive scholarship applications this year, and 62 were awarded totaling $127,500. AANA Foundation Chair Wilma Gillis spoke about the role the AANA Foundation plays in funding nurse anesthesia research and urged students present at the luncheon to support the Foundation throughout their career. At the end of the luncheon, scholarship recipients and sponsors gathered for a group photo. Gillis also thanked outgoing student representative to the AANA Foundation Board of Trustees Chris Reed, CRNA, MPH, MSN, and welcomed incoming Student Trustee Kathryn Cowap, RN, BSN.

Student Writing Contest Winner
AANA Education Committee Chair Scarlett Hinson announced the winner of the 2015 Student Writing Contest: Luke Hubbard, RN, BSN, BA. Hubbard is a student at Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College Nurse Anesthesia Program. His winning article is titled: “IVRA and Acute Compartment Syndrome in a Patient Undergoing Carpal Tunnel Release.”

Student Excellence Award Winner
The Student Excellence Award winner is Angela DeLaria, RN, BSN, a student at Webster University Nurse Anesthesia Program. The award is presented to a student in good academic standing who demonstrates outstanding leadership and professionalism during their program, participates in activities that foster a positive public image of nursing, participates in activities that foster high-quality healthcare to consumers, or engages in volunteer activities of community service or support of healthcare. The student must be nominated by the program administrator or the program administrator’s faculty designee. 

Congratulations to Fiscal Year 2016 Student Representative to the Education Committee
Whitney Benfield, RN, BSN, CCRN, is the fiscal year 2016 student representative to the Education Committee. Benfield is a student at the Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center Nurse Anesthesia Program. She is 2011 graduate of Western Carolina University with a Bachelor’s degree in nursing. She served as president of the Association of Nursing Students at WCU from 2009-2011 and legislative director for the North Carolina Association of Nursing Students in 2010-2011.  Benfield has spent the majority of her nursing career as staff RN and preceptor in the Medical/Surgical Intensive Care Unit at Forsyth Medical Center in Winston Salem, N.C., as well as Catawba Valley Medical Center in Telemetry and Critical Care Units
The luncheon was sponsored by National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists and Core Concepts Anesthesia Review.